Toss Your Salad In The Air Like You Don’t Care!

Theme: Salad

My husband is always bugging me to make more salads or as he puts it “fancy salads so we can eat healthier.” He thinks salads are a simple task because less cooking is involved, but in my reality it usually takes me longer. Lots of chopping involved. And all though veggies are healthy and good for you, the amount of dressing on top is not worth the calories for me. One thing I do love about making salads is how colorful and beautiful they are. It’s like a rainbow on your plate. Anyway, he will be happy with this weeks theme.

So many variations of salads to chose from (pasta, fruit, leafy, veggie). On the Cooking Channel there is a show called Dinner at Tiffani’s and she made an orzo salad with tomatoes, corn and cheese which looked amazing. So of course I had to make it. It’s my go to pasta salad in the summer. I’ve been making variations of this salad and think that I have come up with the one we enjoy the most. The only cooking involved is the orzo and bacon so heating up my kitchen isn’t an issue. Plus, bacon makes everything better!

IMG_5697

Ingredients:
1 box orzo, cooked
2 cups sweet corn kernels , cooked
1/4 red onion or sweet onion, diced
10 oz. rebel tomatoes, halved
6 slices bacon, cooked chopped
1 tablespoon lemon oil
1 lemon, juice
5 oz. Italian blend cheese, shredded
Handful of arugula
Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:
1. In a bowl combine corn, onion and tomato.

IMG_5690
2. In a large bowl combine orzo, bacon, lemon juice and oil.
3. Combine everything together and mix in cheese and arugula. Add salt to taste.

IMG_5689.JPG

Leave a Reply

