This Is Bananas!

Theme: On A Stick

I chose this dessert strictly for my husband and friends only considering I do not like banana’s. He enjoys them and thinks they’re delicious. To each their own!

“I do not like them in a candy,
I definitely do not find them dandy.
I do not like the sticky paste,
I do not like how they taste.
I do not like them here or there,
I do not like them anywhere.”

I really feel that I should like bananas and that I should have grown out of hating them by now, but that does not seem to be the case. It grosses me out to watch someone peel a banana and eat it. I know I’m weird. I am hoping that these churro like deep fried bananas with chocolate sauce will change my mind. Usually deep frying things is always delicious, right?!

IMG_5192

I decided to employ some friends as taste testers for me. People that actually like bananas and all things food. I love being in the kitchen with people getting to know them better which ends in a fun snack that everyone can enjoy. This recipe is very simple and doesn’t take very long to make. I received smiles all around. It was kid and mom tested and approved! Yay!

Ingredients:
1 1/3 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 cup coconut milk
1 cup beer
6 firm/ripe bananas, cut in half
Vegetable oil for frying
1 1/2 cup sugar
2 teaspoons cinnamon
8 oz. semi sweet chocolate chips
1/2 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon vanilla bean paste

Directions:
1. Skewers your bananas. Place them in the freezer until frozen.

DSC_0001
2. In a bowl add flour, baking powder, 1/2 cup coconut milk and beer. Combine and make sure there are no lumps.
3. In a deep sauce pan add vegetable oil about 2 inches deep and heat. To test oil take the end of a wooden spoon or chopsticks and submerge the end to the bottom of the pan, if you see bubbles around the wood its hot enough.
4. In a pie pan combine sugar and cinnamon. Set aside.
5. Pour batter into a glass. Dip the banana into the batter and submerge into your hot oil. Make sure its browned on all sides and remove. Immediately roll in cinnamon and sugar and set aside. Repeat with the remaining

IMG_5195
6. In a double boiler pan add chocolate, 1/2 coconut milk, chili powder and vanilla bean paste. Slowly melt the chocolate until it is completely smooth.
7. Serve chocolate with your deep fried banana for dipping.

DSC_0018.JPG

Leave a Reply

