Sweet And Savory Sensation!

Theme: Presentation

I strongly believe that your tastebuds are effected by what your eyes see.
So when plating my dishes I always strive to make things look delicious and beautiful at the same time. The result usually comes out a little different. I am not the most creative or artistic person and do not claim to be. My mother is extremely talented with any artsy fartsy thing. Sewing, painting, cooking… For me I see it in my mind and I think “that looks easy enough” but then seems to fall short of what I was striving for in the end. So this challenge should be an interesting one. I decided to go for simplicity and sometimes that’s the key.

For months now Try The World has been stocking me with olive oils and vinegars from around the world, so I decided to incorporate some of the balsamic vinegar that they have so nicely given me. This recipe takes about 25 minutes from start to finish and is amazing!

Ingredients:
10 scallops, washed and dried
Hand full of arugula, chopped
2 cups strawberries, chopped
Pinch salt
Pinch pepper
1 scallion, minced
1 teaspoon basil, dried
1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
Balsamic vinegar for drizzling
Olive oil for frying

Directions:
1. In a bowl combine strawberries, arugula, scallion, salt, pepper, basil and red wine vinegar. Set aside.
2. Heat oil nice and hot in a pan.
3. Seer scallops on both sides so they get a nice crust and are cooked through.
4. Plate scallop and add strawberry salsa on top.
5. Drizzle with balsamic vinegar and enjoy!

DSC_0001DSC_0015

Leave a Reply

