Macaron Madness!

Theme: Tea

Infusing things with tea can be fun and tricky. I made a herbal tea infused gnocchi awhile back that turned out delicious. I wanted to do something this time a little unusual.

The first time I had a macaron not a macaroon was not the best experience. They were hard, dry and flavorless so I assumed in my mind that’s just what they tasted like and everyone was crazy for talking about how amazing they are. Then my good friend Lisa directed me to a place called Honey and Butter and told me not to give up on them yet. She assured me they were delicious! And she was right. Amazing!

Before attempting my first time making macarons I decided to ask the advise of someone who has spent many hours in the kitchen perfecting her macaron and buttercream recipes. She did have a couple tips for me which I greatly appreciated. Thank you Alyssa!

– Weigh your ingredients and do not use cup measurements.
– Your batter should ribbon for the right consistency.
– Be patient and give your macarons adequate time to form a skin on them.

I have found that these delightful little treats are extremely temperamental. Too much air no good, not enough air no good, under folding no good, over folding no good, humidity no good, air bubbles no good. I mean really are they going through menopause! The first attempt was a complete fail. They ended up looking like crinkle cookies.

DSC_0029

The second attempt was much better! I used a silicon macaron mat instead of parchment paper, made sure that the batter consistency was mixed better and the resting period longer. In the end I had a delicious dutch chocolate macaron with a hibiscus buttercream and raspberry filling.

DSC_0051

Macaron Ingredients:
100 grams almond flour
100 grams powdered sugar
10 grams dutch cocoa powder
75 grams eggs whites, room temp.
1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
50 grams bakers sugar

Buttercream Ingredients:
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 tablespoon hibiscus leaves, ground into powder
1 teaspoon water
1 tablespoon milk

Raspberry Filling:
2 cups raspberries, fresh
1 cup sugar
Directions:
1. On a scale weigh out almond flour, cocoa powder and powdered sugar in to a bowl and whisk together.

DSC_0002
2. In a stand mixer weigh out egg and cream of tartar.
3. Whisk until foamy.
4. Add sugar and whisk on medium high until you reach stiff peaks.
5. Sift the dry ingredients on top of your meringue.
6. Start folding and continue to until your batter ribbons when you lift your spatula up. Do not over mix (runny) or under mix (thick).
7. Add your batter into a piping bag.
8. Either line your baking sheet with a silpat mat, silicon mat or parchment paper.
9. Start piping your batter onto your baking sheet to form your macarons. Make sure you do not make them too large.
10. Once your done piping, bang your cookie sheet on the table a couple times and use a toothpick to remove any air bubbles.
11. Let sit for up to an hour to form a skin.

DSC_0034
12. While the skin is forming prepare your buttercream.
13. In a stand mixer add butter and hibiscus powder and cream together.
14. Slowly start adding powdered sugar and combine.
15. Then add water and milk and continue mixing until light and silky smooth. Set aside in a piping bag.
16. Prepare the raspberry filling. Add raspberries and sugar to a sauce pan and simmer for about 25 minutes until it reaches jam consistency. Set aside and let cool.

DSC_0032
17. Preheat oven to 300 F.
18. Bake your macarons for 8 minutes and remove from oven.

DSC_0041
19. Set aside and let completely cool.
20. Once your ready to fill your macarons, pipe your butter cream in a circle on one cookie, not to the edge. Leaving it hollow in the middle. Then add your raspberry filling in the hollow middle and sandwich with another top.

DSC_0044

3 Comments Add yours

  1. These all look so delicious!

    Like

  2. Lauren says:

    Hi there, these look incredible. A couple of questions, if you didn’t add the cocoa powder would you adjust the almond flour/powdered sugar? And could you post a pic or video of the dough “ribboning”? That’s the hardest part for me, knowing when to stop mixing. Thanks!!

    Like

    1. I am so sorry for not responding sooner. My app doesn’t notify me when I get a message for some reason. The answer to your first question yes you would just replace the cocoa powder for almond flour. I plan on making them again soon so I will make a video for you of the batter ribboning. I also watched a bunch of YouTube videos to help me with that process as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

