You Scream, I Scream, We All Scream For Ice Cream!!

Theme: Dorm Food

I personally never went to a university and experienced the “dorm life”, but my brother did for four years. I don’t know what would be worse the terrible food, lack of sleep or an annoying room mate. I know… it probably isn’t that bad.
When this challenge came up I immediately contacted my brother and asked him what he lived on when he was in college.

Most kids nowadays do not do a lot of cooking or have the ability to in their dorm rooms. They usually eat out or have a meal plan that provides them cafeteria food. My brother on the other hand lived off Taco Bell, ramen, pizza and tuna. Not to mention a lot of beer! Bleh…..

After speaking with a friend of his from college it sounded like they had a wide variety of food available to them in the Linfield cafeteria. Why my brother chose to eat the above. Mystery. The most memorable for her was the ice cream machines with a funny story about my brother to go along with it. Maybe one day I tell you about it.

As a tribute to my brother and his years at Linfield, I have decided to make Mason Jar Ice Cream 3 different ways.

I also just received another box (India) from Try The World, so I decided to incorporate some of their ingredients into this challenge. So I will be using the Dosa Pancake mix for a cone and topping one of the ice creams with honey. And I have to say that I am always happy to receive the beautiful boxes that Try The World sends their ingredients in, but this India box is absolutely stunning!

 

Making the Dosa cones was harder than I thought. Let’s just say it was an nightmare. Only one actually came out the way it was suppose to. The rest were to soft or to hard to roll. After 6 fails let’s just say I was over it, but at least one came out.


The ice cream was more enjoyable making. Basically throw everything into a jar and then for 5 minutes dance around shaking the jar. While I was shaking I had Taylor Swifts “Shake” song going through my head. Also makes a nice little arm workout which makes me feel less guilty about making and eating ice cream. Just sayin….

Ice Cream Base Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups whipping cream
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • For Flavor: Chocolate – 2 teaspoons cocoa powder or Raspberry – 2 tablespoons raspberry jam
  • Toppings: salted caramel or almonds

 

Directions:

1. In a mason jar add whipping cream, sugar, vanilla and optional flavoring.

2. Make sure lid is screwed on tight!

3. Continuously shake for 5 minutes.

4. Freeze for 6 hours or longer.


5. Give the jar a shake every couple hours.

6. Once ice cream consistency enjoy and add toppings of your choice

Leave a Reply

