Got Pasta?

Theme: Italian

Some of my top places to visit have always been in Italy. Pictures of beautiful cobblestone streets, sipping hot chocolate in a piazza, historical landmarks and all the bread, cheese and pasta you can eat. Who doesn’t want that?! I was fortunate enough to go in 2011 with my brother. We stayed in Venice and Rome and then traveled to Spain. I was unfortunate in the fact that on my long “germy” flight I caught the flu. Ended up sick the entire time I was in Italy, so my taste buds were definitely off. I brought all my fat clothes with anticipation of eating all the bread, cheese and pasta Italy could dish out, but instead lost 9 pounds on my trip. I was still able to see all the sites, enjoy the cobblestone streets, enjoy some wine and still sip my hot chocolate in the Piazza San Marco though.

If you haven’t guessed already, this weeks theme is Italian. There are so many different options of pasta size and shape, along with different kinds of sauces. This week I decided to buy a pasta roller and cutter and make some homemade pasta. You would think that every store that carries kitchenware would sell pasta rollers, that was my thinking anyway. Four stores later I finally found one at Bed Bath And Beyond. I opted for the manual one for $30.00 opposed to the KitchenAid option for $300.

Instead of having the sauce be the star of the dish I thought I would make the pasta the main focus, so I decided on infused pasta. I made three different kinds. Sun-Dried Tomato and Basil, Cremini Mushroom and Lemon Pepper. I have to say I had so much fun making these! We are going to concentrate on the Lemon Pepper.

It took years for me to convince my husband that a KitchenAid was something that I “needed”, but convince I did. My KitchenAid is my new best friend. What would take an extreme arm workout can now be done in a matter of minutes.

  • I added the flour and salt into my stand mixer and combined them together.
  • Then added eggs, water, oil, lemon zest, lemon juice and black pepper in a small bowl and combined.

  • Add the egg mixture to the flour mixture until all combined.
  • Remove your stand mixer paddle and replace with the dough hook.
  • Knead the dough for about 5 minutes. Your dough ball should be slightly glossy and elastic like.

  • Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and let rest for 30 minutes.
  • In a small bowl add some semolina or flour and set next to your pasta roller.
  • Divide your dough into four pieces.
  • Set your pasta roller to the widest setting. Mine is 7.
  • Roll your dough into a small square and roll it through your pasta roller.

  • Fold the ends into the middle so it forms a rectangle and run through your roller again.
  • Change your roller setting down one. For mine down to 6 and roll dough through.
  • Continue to lower the setting 5, 4, 3 ….. and roll through once at each setting until you reach the desired thickness. In between rolls you will want to lightly dust with semolina or flour so the noodles do not stick together.
  • I lowered mine to 3 for fettuccini noodles. It was thin enough to see my fingers through.

  • Then run through your desired cutter. I used the fettuccini cutter.

  • Dust with semolina or flour so the noodles do not stick together and hang to dry.

After making the noodles I needed to find something amazing to pair it with. A couple weeks ago I was in San Diego and picked up some Mako Shark Fillets at Catalina OP. Lemon Pepper Pasta sounded like it would pair well with seafood in an herb butter. While the noodles are drying you can prepare your fish.

  • In a small bowl add olive oil, garlic salt, pepper, Italian seasoning and combine.
  • Make sure your fish is patted dry.
  • Brush fish with olive oil mixture.
  • Sear in pan on both sides. About 2 minutes on each side.
  • Keep warm in oven.
  • In a pot of boiling water, cook noodles. They will float when done. Set aside.
  • In pan melt butter and add green onion, garlic salt and pepper.
  • Toss noodles in the butter.
  • Place fish on top and squeeze lemon juice on top.

Ingredients:

Lemon Pepper Fettuccini:

  • 3 1/2 cups AP flour
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 4 eggs
  • 4 tablespoons water
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 lemon
  • 1 tablespoon black pepper

Fish:

  • 1 lbs. mako shark fillets or your choice of white fish
  • 1/8 cup olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon garlic salt
  • Pinch black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon Italian seasoning

Butter Sauce:

  • 1 stick butter
  • Pinch garlic salt
  • Pinch black pepper
  • 2 green onion stalks, sliced
  • 1 lemon, juice

 

Directions:

  1. Add the flour and salt into a stand mixer and combined them together.
  2. Then add eggs, water, oil, lemon zest, lemon juice and black pepper in a small bowl and combined.
  3. Add the egg mixture to the flour mixture until all combined.
  4. Remove your stand mixer paddle and replace with the dough hook.
  5. Knead the dough for about 5 minutes.
  6. Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and let rest for 30 minutes.
  7. In a small bowl add some semolina and set next to your pasta roller.
  8. Divide your dough into four pieces.
  9. Set your pasta roller to the widest setting. Mine is 7.
  10. Roll your dough into a small square and roll it through your pasta roller.
  11. Fold the ends into the middle so it forms a rectangle and run through your roller again.
  12. Change your roller setting down one. For mine down to 6 and roll dough through.
  13. Continue to lower the setting 5, 4, 3 ….. and roll through once at each setting until you reach the desired thickness. In between rolls you will want to lightly dust with semolina or flour so the noodles do not stick together.
  14. Then run through your desired cutter.
  15. Dust with semolina or flour so the noodles do not stick together and hang to dry.
  16. In a small bowl add olive oil, garlic salt, pepper, Italian seasoning and combine.
  17. Brush fish with olive oil mixture.
  18. Sear in pan on both sides. About 2 minutes on each side. Keep warm in oven.
  19. In a pot of boiling water, cook noodles. They will float when done. Set aside.
  20. In pan melt butter and add green onion, garlic salt and pepper.
  21. Toss noodles in the butter.
  22. Place fish on top and squeeze lemon juice on top.
Leave a Reply

