Fun with Sushi!

I have always thought that sushi was absolutely beautiful. Little delicious works of art.

My first time ever having it was in Seoul Korea in 2003. I have to admit I was extremely spoiled my first time so my expectations became very high. When I returned to the States in search of delicious sushi I was very disappointed. As the years went by sushi became very popular and places started popping up everywhere, but still nothing compared to what I had in Korea.

So I was very excited when my friends Tom and Erika said they know of a place in San Diego where they get sushi grade fish. We planned a day trip and drove on down to a place called Catalina OP and filled a cooler full of fish. I was extremely excited about the “Grab Bags” they sell. $30.00 for 5 pounds of fillets. Mine had Mako Loin, Albacore Tuna and Escolar.

The next day we got together with a couple friends and learned how to roll sushi while enjoying homemade Miso Soup and Yakitori Skewers. So fun and such a wonderful experience. My favorite was the “Fat Boy” roll. My knife skills were sub par, but when I have my friend good ol’ Tom around to do the slicing I dont have to worry about it!





Fat Boy Roll:

  • Shrimp Tempura
  • Spicy Tuna
  • Wasabi
  • Cucumber
  • Carrots
  • Shallots
  • Alternated on top: Escolar, Salmon, Tuna, Avocado
  • Drizzled on top: Spicy Mayo

Leave a Reply

