Keep “eggin” me on!

I don’t know about you, but I get extremely frustrated when something that looks and is relatively simple becomes what seems like an impossible task.

Most people equate eggs with breakfast food. And why wouldnt you want something delicious for breakfast. There are so many ways to prepare them, fried, scrambled, hard boiled, soft boiled, poached… You get the point.

So one day while watching Julie & Julia I realized I have never made a poached egg before. Weird, right?! I absolutely love the runny, creamy yoke of a fried egg, so poached would just be a healthier version.

So I strutted on into the kitchen thinking no problem. How hard is it to simmer some water and drop and egg in it and have it stay whole. Clearly the jokes on me! I got my water to a simmer, swirled my water to look like a tornado, cracked my egg and dropped it in…. It pretty much looked like lifeless egg drop soup. Not what I was going for. So I repeated it like 3 times and at this point Im just wasting perfectly good eggs. Well… not a total waste. They became breakfast for my dogs who do not care what they look like at all.

I finally decided to look up different tricks for poaching eggs such as:

  • Use an egg poacher
  • Add 2 teaspoons of white vinegar to water
  • In a muffin tin
  • Julia Child method

I did not have an egg poacher and wasnt going to go buy one, the vinegar method didnt work for me either, but I had success with good ol’ Julia Childs method.

1. Fill a shallow pot 3/4 full of water and bring to a boil.

2. Once its boiling lower the heat and add the egg whole and let simmer for 10 seconds. Then remove and set aside. Let it cool for a minute.
3. Crack the egg in a small ramkin.

4. Make sure your water is simmering and take a spoon and swirl it around to make a water tornado.

5. As the water is still swirling, carefully lower the egg into the center of your tornado.

6.Once the whites of the egg are set remove with a slotted spoon.

7. Eat immediately and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

