Mexico Memories

In 2011 I ventured out to Southern Mexico with my friend Jenny to a little and I mean little town called Santa Monica. I had never experienced anything like it before. For being out of my element it was amazing how comfortable I was, language barrier and all. It was absolutely the most beautiful and serene place I have been.

Her family was so hospitable and I loved the laid back way of life for the women. Every morning the woman would get up bright and early and immediately start making homemade picaditas for the men that had to run off to work. I have to say that breakfast was my favorite part of the day because I was able to start my morning with eating 4-6 of these delicious picaditas.

Jenny’s family owned the corn fields that made the masa, so all day the women would cook different kinds of dishes for the family, workers and workers families. Living in such a small town they rarely needed actual money, so the workers were paid in food and money. It was fun to walk around with small bags of masa and trade for what you needed. Such a simpler life than the hustle and bustle of what we are use to in the United States.

So when I got home of course I wanted more picaditas!!! Nom nom nom…. Fortunately for me I watched for many days on how to make them. Even though I had to cook mine in a conventional American kitchen instead of a wood fire and stone hearth, they were delicious!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups masa harina
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 7 tablespoons bacon grease
  • 14 tablespoons salsa roja or salsa verde (your choice)
  • 14 tablespoons Mexican sour cream
  • Farmers Cheese
  • Sweet Onion, diced (optional)

 

Directions:

  • Combine the masa and water together until it forms into a dough. If to crumbly add a tablespoon of water at a time until the right consistency.
  • Separate into 7 equal balls of dough.
  • Take a ball and place it in between two pieces of wax paper. You can either use a tortilla press or what I did is place a cutting board on top of it and press my weight on top, then use a rolling pin after to even out to the right diameter. 6 inches in diameter. Repeat with the remaining 6.

  • Make sure your griddle pan is nice and hot and place on of your tortillas on it.
  • When it starts to poof a little in the middle, flip. And then when it poofs a little on the second side, set aside on a cookie sheet.

  • While the next one is cooking, wet your fingers and pinch the edges up around it. Set aside. Repeat with the remaining 6.

  • Once all of them are cooked and formed, place them back on the griddle and add a tablespoon of bacon grease to each one.
  • Heat until grease starts bubbling a little.
  • Add 2 tablespoons of salsa to each one, then 2 tablespoons of sour cream to each one.
  • Sprinkle with cheese and onions.
  • Serve while hot and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

