Recipe For Success!

Theme: Screw Ups Revisited

Its a new year which means a new challenge begins. The 52 week cooking challenge.
This weeks challenge is truly a challenge. Screw-ups revisited which I like to call “Epic Fails” is what I did this week.

My arch nemesis would be anything with coconut flour. Fortunately for me I do not have an allergy to gluten, but so many of my friends do. I start out with good intentions because who doesn’t want to make something delicious for their friends. In the end it tastes horrible, the texture isn’t right and it becomes treats for my dogs. So this week it only seems necessary to tackle this gluten free flour beast again.

Coconut flour hates me!! How can something smell so good and taste so bad. I failed again trying to make Coconut Flour Sandwich Bread. The texture was right but the taste was horrid. My husband said it taste like poison. So off to the kitchen I go again to try another recipe with coconut flour.

Fast forward a couple days…

Its me and you coconut flour, today is winner takes all! My husband probably thinks Im going crazy since every time I walk past the jar of coconut flour I say “I will defeat you.”

Finally success! Approved by my very patient and loving friends. A 6 Layer Pumpkin Bar is the winner. The only thing that would make it more delicious would be to add some oats to the crust. Coconut Flour, you have been defeated!!

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 3/4 cup coconut flour, sifted
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup coconut sugar
  • 1 cup pureed pumpkin
  • 8 ounces sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 cup shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup pecans, chopped

Directions:

1. Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees and line an 8×8 inch pan with parchment paper, rubbing the sides generously with coconut oil.

2. In a stand mixer beat maple syrup and coconut oil until smooth and creamy. Stir in the flour, pumpkin pie spice and salt until a dough forms.

3. Press the dough evenly into the bottom of the pan.

4. Bake the crust just until lightly golden brown, about 8 mins.

5. In a small bowl, add pumpkin, cinnamon, nutmeg, and coconut sugar and pour this on top of the crust.

6. Then layer the shredded coconut on top, condensed milk, chocolate chips and pecans. Bake for 30 minutes.

7. Allow to cool to room temperature, then freeze for 30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

